the shoe.

notebook_paper-2.jpg

there’s always a time and place where you must appreciate things that need appreciation. sometimes we don’t think about the simple things in life that get us through the day. there are many things i could write about with respect to being grateful for the simple things, but none is more important (to me) than: shoes.

but wait, before you judge, i have good reason for this blog. i received the most immaculate pair of shoes for my birthday. i had waited and waited, prayed and prayed (not really, cause this is a really shallow thing to pray about with the health of our world in such dire need), and cried over these shoes for such a long time, it seemed like an eternity. but a wonderful angel from the heavens descended and delivered these shoes into my bosom on the 20th anniversary of the day of my birth. i was overwhelmed with glee, and frolicked through my home with delight. let me show you what all the hoop-la is about:

tnt3.jpg
tnt1.jpgtnt2.jpg

EXACTLY. you see, shoes are not to be taken for granted. comfort is of the utmost importance in footwear, and these shoes are incredibly comfortable. let me break it down for you: shoes protect, shelter, and cultivate happy toes, so never underestimate the power of a good pair of shoes. they protect your toes from the harsh bumps and bruises that you would have otherwise received if you had not been wearing shoes. they shelter your feet from rain, sleet, and snow. and they cultivate happy toes that dance, perform, and run for you. shoes respect you, and look out for you without asking anything in return. yet we continue to throw shoes away without even thinking twice. have you ever stopped to think about how our shoes feel? have you taken care of your footwear lately? are you respecting your shoes? think about it.

but wait, i’m not done yet. sandals. don’t even get me started on sandals. sandals are the arch-enemy (haha, get it?) of shoes/sneakers. just think of it this way: shoes are the good guys, sandals are the bad guys. sandals violate all three of the footwear commandments. sandals do not protect, but rather leave your toe-skin wide open for abuse from the outside environment. sandals do not shelter you feet from rain, sleet, and snow, but leave you naked and vulnerable. finally, sandals do not cultivate happy toes. have you ever tried to dance, perform, or run in sandals? it’s more painful than enjoyable. happy toes need shoes. throw away the sandals and come over the the good side. i rest my case.

artwork and words by: brian chang

Tagged , ,

One thought on “the shoe.

  1. David Chang says:

    so THIS is what college kids do. got it.

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Pure Church by Thabiti Anyabwile

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

