dykstra staff 07-08.

so let’s not lie. can we be honest with ourselves? there are many times in life when you feel like there’s no one around to pull you out of that pit of emotional recklessness. midterms hit, some sort of awkward drama invades your life, and you for some reason locked yourself out of your room AGAIN, but there’s no one around to listen to you whine and complain. we’ve all been there, and we all know that there’s some point where you wish you had someone to talk to, someone to pick you up while you’re down, someone to just.. be there. then i hit a point where i personally start re-evaluating all my friends, and how much of a “friend” they are to me to leave me alone on that particular day (as if they knew that i was having a bad day), and i end up falling into deep thought about my life and what direction i want to go and i end up rocking myself to sleep in the corner of my lonely room.. (maybe that’s just me though).

THANKFULLY, God has surrounded me with amazing people who don’t ever let me go a day without reminding me that they’re there for me. i know we (especially in ORL) throw around the term “amazing people” a lot these days, but when i say it, i mean it. these people have been there for me through thick and thin, through the good times and bad, always willing to lend a listening ear, or an opinion or two (or three) on the problem of the day. they help me celebrate when it’s time to celebrate, and let loose when it’s time to let loose; they’re a constant reminder that there ARE good people in this world.
1.jpg5.jpg

i have so many great memories with these people, they’ve definitely made my year thus far. from small encouraging notes to friends making time for friends during their busy schedules, i’ve seen so much selflessness and humility. i’m inspired by them to be a better person, moved to take up a bigger role in the community, and encouraged to be a little more enthusiastic about life. these people are basically my inspiration.

2.jpg8.jpg

So, this is my letter to the dykstra staff for no particular reason other than to show my appreciation. we’re past half way through the year, and i know things probably won’t be the same next year (especially after experiencing those group interviews…you guys know what i mean…). i want you guys to know that i look up to each and everyone of you, each of you possesses a unique quality that i truly admire. thank you for helping me with anything and everything so far this year; thank you for all the encouragement and support, and for the unforgettable memories. in many ways i feel like i’ve been selfish for taking for granted all of your kindness and love, but i think i’m going to be more conscious of that from now on. i know there’s been ups and downs on staff this year, but that’s expected from any group of people that are put in our positions. ok, now i have to stop procrastinating, i have midterms tomorrow, but i’m sure you’ll all hear about it at some point this week. i love all you guys, and remember that i’m here for you guys whenever you need me. d-luv. holler.

b.chang

dhbanner.jpg
Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Pure Church by Thabiti Anyabwile

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

