Summer days..

So I’ve been home for a little more than a week now, and I’m actually enjoying it. Being home is very relaxing, and after a hectic (but fun) trip through Europe, I’m ready to just chill. It’s been tough though, my family is a very busy family, and it’s not often that everyone (all six of us) are at home at the same time. I try to be productive with my time, and I’ve been spending a lot of time with my daddy. He’s been teaching me how to cook, and he’s showing me all the ropes. So far my dad and I have: worked on my new road bike, experimented with food, had a spontaneous family BBQ, and are currently planning to go watch Dark Knight together. It’s been time that I have learned to truly value, especially with the busy life that I lead at home.

Usually people get uber bored at home after a week or so, but I think I’ll be quite alright. Yesterday, I took a bike trip to my nearby park, just to get some reading done, do my devotions, and write in my journal. Some say I think too much, but I think it builds character and awareness. I got a little restless after an hour or so at the park, so I decided to simply ride my bike in any direction, you know, be spontaneous–so I ended up in Cypress. I found a nice little park and decided to set up camp there for a little while; I did some more reading then headed home. It was a really nice time to just clear my head and refocus my thoughts. Riding my bike and listening to my iPod (while not using ANY gas), really put things in perspective for me. It was enjoyable and very worthwhile.

Anyways, just an encouragement to whoever may be reading this post, wherever you are. Don’t be lazy! There’s always something to do, or read, or work on. Just some things I’ve been dabbling in lately: guitar (without the singing cause I can’t carry a tune), painting (just started, and I’ve been slacking, but I WILL have a new painting before school starts), fixing my road bike (which was fun, but after taking the bike apart I  had to ultimately let the pros put it back together), visiting friends in LA (which was SO fun, I’m going back..when they’re not all studying and actually have time for me), spending time with my family (which is incredibly hard to do, cause no one’s ever around anymore), and reading (the BEST use of time). So, yea, that’s what I’ve been up to. Hope this helps all you bored people droning around the house!

PS. you guys can COMMENT on my posts. I think I’ve received THREE comments since this blog started. That’s SAD, you guys can do better. Let me know if I should just give this blog up, or if you guys enjoy it! Thanks!

One thought on “Summer days..

  1. Evee says:

    BCHANG!! I read this now too, after discovering its link on your Facebook profile hahha =)

    How ya doing? You butthead, still haven’t given me your home address so I can mail you something from my mission trip to Japan! Your support and prayers meant a lot. You can email me (evelyn.m.lim@gmail.com) your addy.

    I’m glad you had a jolly good time in Europe and learned many things. And doing devos outdoors is indeed the BEST- my parents renovated our backyard and the lush green grass and trees and flowers are flourishing this time of year! I’ve been reading a book on prayer called the Power of Prayer in a Believer’s Life by Charles Spurgeon. It’s sooooooo good; I’ve never felt as convicted about going on knees pleading to God in prayer about anything and everything until now =D

    Take care bud!

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Thabiti Anyabwile Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

