In The Midst of it All

It’s been a long day full of overwhelming responsibilities and underwhelming results. I’ve gone from class to class trying to keep my eyelids from closing shop, and trying to somehow absorb the information that’s being thrown at me. I watch other students give in to the temptation of a deep slumber, and can only rely on my Rockstar energy drink to keep me accountable.

But in the midst of it all, I begin to see that it’s a blessing to be in an institution of higher learning.

I walked back to my residence hall, only to find a stack of reponsibilities sitting in my mailbox. I sifted through them as if they were weights being placed on my shoulders.

But in the midst of it all, I’ve realized that those weights are making me stronger, enabling me to lift others up.

Sitting in the office, I’m overloaded with work. Taking orders, I remember asking myself why it is I put myself through such an unforgiving lifestyle. I grumble and complain about my duties, sometimes even infecting the people around me with my sour attitude.

But in the midst of it all, I’m reminded that there’s another reason why I do what I do.

Back in my room, as I spend time with You, I realize the lack of faith that I’ve portrayed throughout my day; my utter inability to rely on anyone but myself to get me through. I’m flooded by my faults and my inadequacies, spiritually and mentally. I wonder how anyone could love me through my flaws, much less an unimaginable God.

But in the midst of it all, I’m reminded that You died for me. That’s Love.

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Thabiti Anyabwile Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

