Relate To Me.

Sometimes I ask God why I’ve been put in the situations, or organizations that I’m in. I wonder why what I study, where I work, and the different things that have become responsibilities in my life are so contradictory to my personal strongholds. On a campus where trends are so prevalent, and friendships live and die by one’s opinions, it’s actually a miracle that my beliefs are still as close to my heart as they are. Let me explain:

I go to UCLA. Fine, no problems there. But there are so many trends of the world that are portrayed here, especially with Los Angeles being one of the most liberally “progressive” areas in all of the world. That’s right, the world. A student can’t walk up (or down) the famous Bruin Walk without being assaulted by people who, with blatant disrespect for a person’s own convictions and beliefs, have made it a crime to go against the grain. It seems that common trends have stopped being issues that are talked about and discussed, but have people up in arms to the point where those who don’t hold the same beliefs are persecuted and shunned. People always tell me that diversity is the key to unity in America. I believe this to be true. At the same time, there is a line as to how far that “diversity” can be extended because it’s such a vague term. But here, that “fine line” of balance in diversity has been muddled, overstepped, and taken drastically out of context. Here, they worry so much about diversity to a fault; to the point where liberalism is exceedingly emphasized, and conservatism is shown the door. You can walk out on campus and flaunt your opinions on gay marriage, and be flamboyant about your pro-choice beliefs without fear, but a person can’t walk down to campus sporting a “Yes on Prop 8” sticker without the fear of being tackled, or spat upon. I only bring this up to highlight the deep discrimination taking place that–ironically–stemmed from a movement to stop it.

I recently told a friend from work (someone I truly considered a friend, with whom I’ve had many laughs) about my voting behavior during the recent elections. I knew we didn’t hold the same beliefs (mine being the minority belief on this campus), but I didn’t think there would be any repercussions reflected in our friendship. Oh, how wrong I was. Not only was she mad at me that day (I could tell when her ears started turning red), but I now come to work, facing a cold person who refuses to talk to me. Not only does it hurt on a friendship level, but on a personal level; to think that people are so fickle as to hinge their friendships on the basis of one vote, this is incredible to me. Now a disclaimer: I understand that not all people react this way, but for anyone to act this way seems slightly preposterous.

Are you beginning to see what our society (or at least UCLA) has come to? This great nation that we all take for granted is being abused, and its freedom of opinion tarnished. Since when have we become a society of trends? Where people are not entitled to their own beliefs of how America can become a greater place of peace? How has our country’s morality stooped so low to the point where a person is persecuted, cast out, and stepped on because he doesn’t agree with another person?

In light of all this, I have no doubts in the sovereignty of God. I trust that everything is in control, that no matter what happens, no matter how this world changes, God will never change. Though the trends in this world may change, and people may try to preach false gospels, his Word is solid, and his Love unending. God’s will always prevail.

“We are no longer to be children, tossed here and there by waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, by craftiness in deceitful scheming; but speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in all aspects into Him who is the head, into Christ”

-Ephesians 4:14-15

2 thoughts on “Relate To Me.

  1. Alan says:

    truth
    stay strong
    i feel exactly the same way

  2. Joseph says:

    keep strong, bro. we all need to encourage one another during these times.

    And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works:
    Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.

    Hebrews 10:24-25

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Thabiti Anyabwile Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

