Frank Study.

This series is devoted to Frank, a dear friend of mine whom God has placed on my heart for over a year now. With him I’ve had my most unique and inspiring conversations to date, but also some of my most heartbreaking. I’ve created “Frank Study” as a way to reach out to Frank by going through the Word of God with him on a weekly basis. These pages will be written and addressed directly to Frank, but others should feel free to follow along.

To Frank:

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed our conversations about life, the economy, politics, classes, and most importantly, God. I know we’ve continually been at odds with one another–you being an atheist, and me a Christian–but that has never stopped me from loving you as a brother and wanting the best for you and your soul. You’ve been a quality friend and my prayers for you will never cease; you have no idea how much my heart yearns for you to understand and accept the Gospel. You’ve heard me preach the Gospel of Jesus Christ to you many times, how we’re both sinners deserving only of death and Hell, how God’s love for us stretches beyond what we can imagine, how Jesus Christ who was 100% man and 100% God died for our sins and was forsaken by God the Father for our iniquities, and how genuine belief in Jesus Christ as our one and only Savior brings eternal salvation. As a sinner, it is only by God’s undeniable Grace that I’ve been transformed; there is nothing I have or could ever do to pay back my eternal debt to Christ. Yet every time we speak you have a rebuttal, some flawed and others quite formidable, but due to my inadequate knowledge of this God, I’ve been unable to fully articulate the depths of love He has for you. For my inability to provide you with the answers you so seek, I apologize.

I know of no other way to describe an indescribable God, to illustrate an unseen Lord, than to go straight to His divine Word. As promised, I’m starting this bible study series to reveal to you the truths of the Gospel. I trust that the Lord is watching over you, and I have faith that God’s will (whatever it may be) will be accomplished in your life. Always know that my love and patience comes from the Love and Patience I’ve received from a Holy God. I pray that you will be able to read this blog every once in a while. Please read with an open heart and a willingness to understand a God that is so desperately pursuing you.

Frank, I hope that through this past year  you’ve been able to see Christ’s Love through me and the life that I lead. Hopefully you’ve also been able to see how much I care about you and your salvation. I know it can get tedious sometimes having a friend with whom all your conversations revolve around beliefs and God, but understand that to me, your spiritual identity is your only identity. Our beliefs and convictions spill into every other aspect of our lives and they dictate our actions; this is the transforming power of the Gospel, because it infiltrates everything about us individually. But of course, you already knew all this, so I’ll let the Word of the Lord speak for itself. Keep in touch, old friend.

Brian

Disclaimer: I am not a pastor, reverend, priest, or even a seminary student. This blog is nothing but a communication between friends for the purpose of encouraging and edifying one another. Please do not treat this like theological commentary or doctrinal truths because I am bound to make mistakes in my studies. This is simply my commitment to a friend and will serve as a way for me to grow in my understanding of the Lord as well.

“I charge you in the presence of God and of Christ Jesus, who is to judge the living and the dead, and by his appearing and his kingdom; preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, and exhort, with complete patience and teaching.”     – 2 Timothy 4:1-2

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Thabiti Anyabwile Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

