Theology Matters 2: Ready, Set… GO!

‘Theology Matters’ is a blog series on the Asian American Christian Fellowship at UCLA’s book study of “Dug Down Deep” by Joshua Harris. In this series I will be posting updates, reminders, thoughts, and study questions all about the book.

We have liftoff. The books are in and being distributed to the various leaders of AACF. Let the reading commence! (If you don’t know what I’m talking about, please refer to “Theology Matters 1”)

I’m really excited about this new endeavor. It’s new, it’s fresh, and nobody knows how this will impact people, but I’m really confident that we’ll be equipping God’s people in a positive way. It was also very encouraging to see how excited the leadership was to be participating in this book study. They all looked like kids in a candy store tonight when I handed them their brand new books. I’ve actually never seen a group of people more excited to explore theology; it was a great blessing to hear that people actually wanted to learn more about God. What a joy it is to be serving with these people!

As for me, I already started my book (I’m intentionally leaving my book a mystery) and I’m enjoying it very much. The author is effective in communicating to the reader in a casual but straightforward way; he really relates to the reader and explains things clearly. So many times I’ve found myself nodding in approval at a phrase or circling sentences feverishly; I’ve done everything I can to keep from standing up and applauding at some points. This book speaks directly to the hearts of young people and I actually find myself excited to learn more about God (like right now I can’t wait to crawl into bed and read). I personally think this book would be good for anyone and I’ve already made arrangements to buy this particular book for my siblings (good birthday presents).

Of course, all the books that were recommended by respected pastors and mentors will be good. I’m confident that our process of vetting through the different books will not only be edifying for the members of AACF in the long run, but also for the leaders right now. We’re learning how to discern what books are most effective for a particular audience, how to look at particulars of a book and examine how effective or ineffective those aspects will be on a target audience. Even more, we’re all beginning to get into the habit of reading for our own spiritual edification rather than for the secular knowledge that our university promotes (not that it’s a bad thing). Now that’s good training if you ask me!

We should be done with the reviews in the next few weeks. The leadership will then select a book and create discussion questions for the small group series that the fellowship will be going through. I’ll keep you all posted! That’s it for now.

bc

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Thabiti Anyabwile Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

