The Reason Not to Read (Books)

If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you know how much I enjoy and even promote reading. I think my book reviews are indicative of the amount of reading I do (when I have the time to do so) and they illustrate many of my convictions. I also talk about good books all the time. A normal conversation with me will usually yield some words of encouragement, and a few book recommendations. You see, I’ve been heavily influenced by the (Gospel-centered) books I read and I rely on more thoughtful, intelligent, and faithful authors to help me in my walk with the Lord. However, I need to repent before the Lord for boasting too much in worldly knowledge. Allow me to explain.

I may have mislead many of you into thinking that reading a ‘Christian living’ book will help your spiritual life grow exponentially. This is not true. The only thing that can and will make you grow closer to God is a personal, sincere investigation into the Bible, the divine Word of God, and intimate time spent with Him. Many of you have given me positive feedback about reviews that I write, and some of you even express how my reviews have encouraged you to read certain books. That is all well and great, but I want to make clear that there is no substitute for reading the Bible first. Authors, no matter the topic of their book, are sinners too and are merely partners in our journey of sanctification in this life. It’s like having a pig teach another pig how to one day become a cow—it simply perpetuates piggie-ness. If we overemphasize the reading of books or the accumulation of knowledge, we’re simply continuing sinfulness and maybe idolizing knowledge along the way.

Books are good because they allow brothers and sisters who have had different experiences in life share thoughts with their readers. It also opens up our eyes to certain lessons that God is teaching us through his Word. But the Bible is so much better! An older, much wiser gentleman once told me that books are useful but ultimately they’re merely secondary sources, so why focus on secondary sources when the primary source is right in front of us!

I’ve been trying to implement this more in my own life, and I’m making a concerted effort to spend more time reading the Bible than I spend reading other books. I can honestly say that my love for the Lord has grown tremendously since I started doing this. Everyday I discover how rich the Word of God is, how exacting and piercing. So, I just wanted to pass this message on to you, the reader. And yes, I’d much rather you read the Bible with the time you spend reading my blog. Blogs are food for thought, but the Bible is food for life.

bc

One thought on “The Reason Not to Read (Books)

  1. Betty Chang says:

    I totally agree with you, specially the last sentence….

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Thabiti Anyabwile Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

