Theology Matters 5: Chapters 1 & 2

‘Theology Matters’ is a blog series on the Asian American Christian Fellowship at UCLA’s book study of “Dug Down Deep” by Joshua Harris. In this series I will be posting updates, reminders, thoughts, and study questions all about the book.

So we’re off to the races! The books are out and discussions will begin this week in your respective small groups! I’ve since decided that this blog is going to give my own thoughts on the weekly readings, while also providing the study questions in advance for those who need more time to ponder before discussing the questions in small groups. I’ve already read the entire book, but it’s still edifying for me to refresh my memory a bit.

Real quick, here’s the schedule of readings by week (Spring Quarter = 10 Weeks; these indicate what week the readings will be discussed in small group):
Week 2: My Rumspringa (1) & In Which I Learn To Dig (2)
Week 3: Near But Not In My Pocket (3) & Ripping, Burning, Eating (4)
Week 4: God With A Belly Button (5)
Week 5: A Way To Be Good Again (6)
Week 6: How Jesus Saved Gregg Eugene Harris (7)
Week 7: Changed, Changing, To Be Changed (8)
Week 8: I Believe In The Holy Spirit (9)
Week 9: The Invisible Made Visible (10)
Week 10: Humble Orthodoxy (11)

Chapter 1: Yes, rumspringa really happens. What a way to begin a book though, right? Harris grabbed my attention right off the bat! Now, I know there is a lot of biographical information in the beginning of the book, but I thought it was masterful how he threaded King Josiah and Jeremiah into the chapter. He’s slowly drawing the reader to consider biblical examples and he’s clear with his intent in it. He writes, “we’re talking about theology. Simply put, theology is the study of the nature of God—who he is and how he thinks and acts.” I can’t help but appreciate his thought provoking statements either: “We’re all theologians,” he writes, “The question is whether what we know about God is true.”

Chapter 2: There’s that scary word again: doctrine. I think Josh hit the topic (no matter how braod it was) head on, it clears the air of any misconceptions of the word or its implications. Through further biographical information, Josh uses his progression of faith to illustrate the importance of theology in everyday life. What I appreciated most about this chapter is on page 25 when he shamelessly declares, “I needed a mentor.” Four words with profound meaning; discipleship was one of the main tools God used to develop Josh. So, think twice the next time you question your role as a discipler or the amount you can learn as a disciplee.

I know some of this stuff might be review for some people, but realize that we can never know enough about right thoughts of God. If the truth is the truth then it should resonate in our hearts and minds everytime we hear it; it should have the same significance now as it did the first time we heard it. Overall, these chapters are a good start to our book study. It only gets better from here.

Week 2 Study Questions:
1. What was your attitude toward Christian doctrine when you first picked up Dug Down Deep? What was your opinion of theology before you started reading?

2. “Theology matters, because if we get it wrong, then our whole life will be wrong.” How does sound doctrine affect our lives as Christians? How does it affect us as college students?

3. Joshua Harris talks about ‘digging’ for truth in chapter 2 (through books, discipleship, etc). In what ways have you committed to this same type of ‘digging’? What can you do to dig deeper or how can you put yourself in the way of truth more?

bc

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Pure Church by Thabiti Anyabwile

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

