Reading and e-Reading

It’s interesting to see how the way we read is evolving. I still remember the days when I would wake up in the morning, run outside, pick up the newspaper and walk back in the house excited to read about yesterday’s happenings. Or when I would find a good book and sit under a tree at the park to read for hours. Or staying up late into the night because I had to finish the next chapter (and the next, and the next) of a book that was so-good-I-can’t-put-it-down. Those were the days. Now I’m sitting here reading my course assignments online and debating whether I should purchase a Kindle now or wait until the inevitably new and updated version is released. O, how the times have changed! So here’s a break from my normally religio-centric postings. Here are just a few interesting things to think about for the near and distant future of reading.

How I Read a Book
Tim Challies is a prolific reader, to say the least. He shows us what methods and tools he uses to be more effective in his reading and what he looks for in the reading experience.

Read More, Read Better
I’ve posted this once before, but it’s worth a repost. Challies  shows us what to look for in browsing and selecting books.

The Kindle is Cool…for school?
Taking over. I want to get one of these (to cut my spending on books in half), but I don’t know if Amazon will be coming out with a new version anytime soon. Anyone have some insider information that they would like to share with me (they’re currently at ‘Kindle 3’ or ‘Kindle DX’)?

Macworld’s e-Readers
Here’s a preliminary look into the world of e-Readers. You’ll find reviews and helpful ‘pros and cons’ on the e-Reader world. We should stay hip with the times and read up on the incoming technology.

I hope those links help you find your way in the evolving world of literature.

bc

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Pure Church by Thabiti Anyabwile

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

