Fifteen-A-Day

At first I was rather reluctant to post about my new bible reading plan for fear of self-glorification. But after having an encouraging conversation with another brother who is a partner in the plan, I’m convinced that I am boasting in the Lord when I share about what we’re doing (2 Corinthians 10:17).

After coming back from Lighthouse Community Church‘s Beacon Retreat, many students (myself included) were compelled to take seriously the Lord’s charge that we handle the word with proficiency (2 Timothy 4:2-5). Thus, we embarked on a journey to read through the bible in hyper-drive: we committed to reading 15 chapters a day, from Genesis straight through Revelation, while keeping each other accountable (through daily text messages). This plan will have us all finishing the entire bible in under 3 months time (1189 chapters, 15 a day..you do the math). Though ambitious, this journey is well worth it.

Though we’ve just started, I can already see abundant blessings in reading the bible this way. Not only are you pouring over scripture for at least an hour every day, but you’re seeing God’s work from “a bird’s eye view,” as one participant put it. Students tend to take the bible one or two chapters at a time, but by chopping up the text so much we quickly forget what we had read the previous day. By looking at 15 chapters in one day  you can see the bigger picture, and better comprehend the literary genius that is the bible. Geneologies become so much more interesting because you notice people you’ve just read about, and biblical prophecies become more real when you can read about God’s warning and its consequences in the same sitting. This bible reading plan has undoubtedly made me schedule my entire day around reading the bible (I’m still in school taking a full course load, mind you), yet my hour in God’s word has become my rest during the ‘cool of the day’ (just as God did for Adam and Eve in Genesis 3:8).

My friend made a good point to me tonight. This is what he said (paraphrasing):
“You know, if we read like this all the time, we’ll read through the bible four times a year. I know a lot of people like to do the ‘bible in a year’ plan. But say you start reading the bible every year starting when you’re 20 and you die when you’re 80. Well, that means you’ve only read through the entire bible 60 times in your lifetime (assuming you keep up with the plan). That’s really sad.”

There’s some food for thought.

bc

Tagged

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Thabiti Anyabwile Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

