SNEAK PEEK: “Radical” by David Platt

David Platt is the pastor of The Church at Brook Hills, a 4,000-member congregation in Birmingham, Alabama. Widely regarded as an exceptional expositor, David has traveled and taught around the world. He holds two undergraduate and three advanced degrees, including a Ph.D. from New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary. David and his wife, Heather, are the parents of Caleb and Joshua, and are in the process of adopting a third child.

Wow. I’ve only read one chapter of this book but clenching my fists and breathing warm air through them is all I can do to keep myself from falling to the ground because of the overbearing burden of conviction. I needed this chapter as a reminder of what I used to believe and live out but has succumbed to the comforts of life.

David Platt calls believers to be radical. No. Rather, Platt makes clear that it is Jesus who calls his followers to be radical. Jesus was radical. In the midst of a culture that is quickly fabricating a convenient image of Jesus, Platt is calling us back to a right view of our biblical Savior. Platt writes, “We are giving in to the dangerous temptation to take the Jesus of the Bible and twist him into a version of Jesus we are more comfortable with.” Have we indeed forgotten the Jesus of the Bible? This is my fear, and I’m glad that Platt has decided to take up the issue.

Writing a direct commentary on American Christianity, Platt is courageous in writing this book in the midst of a “me-first,” mega church culture. But his audience is more than just those who are fickle Sunday Christians, he’s talking to every believer who doesn’t live all out, radical lives for Christ. I love what Platt says: “We need to return with urgency to a biblical gospel, because the cost of not doing so is great for our lives, our families, our churches, and the world around us.” Though I’ve only started this book, I’m excited to finish the rest of it. I’m sure it will challenge me to re-devote my life and mind to following the true Jesus Christ.

bc

If you’re interested, you can download the first chapter of Radical: Taking Back Your Faith from the American Dream here! You can get a free copy of The Radical Question by David Platt here.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “SNEAK PEEK: “Radical” by David Platt

  1. jessiekaitlyn says:

    just started reading this book! already started crying after reading the first chapter! haha check out my latest blog post on my thoughts on an excerpt from this book if you get a chance (:

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Thabiti Anyabwile Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

