Great is Thy Faithfulness

Well it’s been a hectic couple of weeks for me, full of studying and early morning car rides. If you don’t know, I started seminary this week at The Master’s Seminary in Sun Valley, CA which is excuse enough for me not updating this blog. I’ll spare you all the details of my first week of classes, but one event stands to summarize how I feel about my experience as a young seminarian so far:

On the first day of classes, the men headed out to the lawn for a school picture (we were looking up into the sun, so it’ll undoubtedly result in a squinty-eyed photo). Then at 9:30 AM, everyone headed into the chapel for worship and a message. The place was packed. On one hand, I was shocked that there were hundreds of men all dressed up in their shirt and tie, crammed into such a small chapel. On the other, I could sense the new students’ anticipation for Dr. John MacArthur’s preaching that was to take place. But the highlight came when we all rose to sing the hymn “Great is Thy Faithfulness” as our musical worship.

With an organ as the only instrument, I could hear the voices of 350 men singing in worship to our Lord. It wasn’t that everyone had particularly impressive voices (other than Tim St. John, who sang in perfect harmony the entire time next to me), but it was the culmination of week’s worth of meeting and interacting with various students beforehand. It was nice to hear the choir of male voices echoing off the walls of the chapel, but it was more than that. Some had sacrificed high-salary jobs, some moved entire families from different countries, some were old, some were young, some had been raised with extensive biblical knowledge, and some knew little about Scripture but knew that Jesus Christ died for their sins and the only proper response was to devote their entire life to him. Regardless of where they had come from or what they had to go through, those voices in that moment seemed like an absolute surrender of anything and everything.

Then it hit me: we are here to become ministers of the gospel. I was honored to be among them, and comforted that God had called so many men to leave their lives behind to pursue a life of serving Christ. And no matter what difficulties arise, we know that God is faithful. He is faithful to those who are faithful.

So, I leave you with the hymn, “Great is Thy Faithfulness”:

  1. “Great is Thy faithfulness,” O God my Father,
    There is no shadow of turning with Thee;
    Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not
    As Thou hast been Thou forever wilt be.

    • “Great is Thy faithfulness!” “Great is Thy faithfulness!”
      Morning by morning new mercies I see;
      All I have needed Thy hand hath provided—
      “Great is Thy faithfulness,” Lord, unto me!
  2. Summer and winter, and springtime and harvest,
    Sun, moon and stars in their courses above,
    Join with all nature in manifold witness
    To Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love.
  3. Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth,
    Thy own dear presence to cheer and to guide;
    Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow,
    Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside!

bc

3 thoughts on “Great is Thy Faithfulness

  1. tina says:

    :) praise the Lord.

  2. jee says:

    That’s almost exactly what Tim shared with me about chapel and singing that song… minus the part where his harmony is mentioned.

    Even though I wasn’t there, reading your reflections, and hearing Tim’s makes me feel like I was there to experience it. How beautiful – and Great IS HIS faithfulness. :)

  3. JT says:

    the worship part sounds so amazing!!!

    praise God man. it’s going to be a great journey, and i am excited to witness your growth and transforming. :D

    ps. i’m jealous that you got to sit next to TSJ. score one for you sir.

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Thabiti Anyabwile Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung Posts – The Gospel Coalition

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

