Album Review: “Beautiful Things” by Gungor

Highly Recommended. I’m a sucker for creativity. This is one of those albums that will stay in my car for a while. I can’t get enough of the imagination that’s laced throughout the entire album, the composition of everything from the song order to the lyrics down to the guitar rifts and drum beats seem to work in perfect harmony. This is a must listen if I’ve ever heard one.

The former Michael Gungor Band, now simply named Gungor, debuted in 2008 with Ancient Skies. The album was critically acclaimed but their newest album, Beautiful Things, features the maturation of the band in general. With a more crystalized sense of their faith and a more concrete understanding of who God is in their lives, the band has put together an album that far surpasses their last. They’ve accomplished a sound that resembles a seamless union between Jon Foremen (leadman from Switchfoot) and Future of Forestry—a combination that is bound to excite.

Yes, this is a Christian album (interestingly placed in the “Religious” genre on iTunes) but it’s near the front of the pack in terms of creativity for music in general. Lyrically, it’s not the type of album that will spawn a wave of worship leaders fighting for their music sheets, but it’s encouraging enough to point the believer toward thoughtfulness about their relationship with God. This album speaks of God’s goodness, his faithfulness, his role as our Creator, and reconciles these characteristics with the Christian walk of faith. Though I’m more of the hymn type myself, the lyrics proclaim true things about God and even reflects biblical ideas for the most part.

Overall, “Beautiful Things” is one of the best albums I’ve heard for a while from both a musical and Christian perspective.  Track to track, there hasn’t been one song that I’ve ever had the impulse to skip, and each track has my head bobbing and my feet tapping.  This is not an album that settles well as subtle background music in the car: It’s one of those blast-from-your-car-speakers or turn-up-in-the-headphones kind of album. To experience the full potential—the intricate licks and ingenious fills—you must listen closely. For those with a musical ear this will undoubtedly be a long-awaited treat for your abused eardrums. For those without a musical ear, well, just sit back and tap your foot to the rhythm.

Here’s a sampling of one of my favorite songs from the album, “Beautiful Things”:

For more information: Gungor Music

4 thoughts on “Album Review: “Beautiful Things” by Gungor

  1. collisive says:

    I love this album! though I didn’t know you listened to non-rap…

    • Brian Chang says:

      I listen to a lot of music! I’ll give anything a try, but nothing gets the heart jumping like some good ole’ rap music :)

  2. eufemio says:

    I love this album, too! It makes me want to learn to play the glockenspiel. =)

    BTW the song, “Beautiful Things,” is currently featured on the New Song Cafe at worshiptogether.com: http://goo.gl/EAmSX

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Pure Church by Thabiti Anyabwile

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

