Randoms.

I apologize for my barrage of anti-social media posts, and I’m sad to say that today is not the day that I stop. I think in considering my own use of social media, it’s only appropriate that I challenge my readers to do the same. My intention is not to rebuke people for their abuse of media, but to help us more clearly consider how we’re using it and what it’s doing to us as Christians, both personally and spiritually. I am not perfect in any of this either, but I’m working toward developing a God-glorifying doctrine of social media. Thus we have some links today that have caught my attention and hopefully will give you some food for thought:

Facebook Makes Us Miserable
An interesting post by Tim Challies, the man who wrote the book on the intersection between theology and technology (I have yet to read it, more about this later in the post). He talks about Facebook and what this trend indicates about our need for the local church.

Not Many Of You Should Be Bloggers
In light of the recent abuses of blogs and YouTube pages (see UCLA), I thought this article is sobering for those of us who are aspiring bloggers or are simply too loose with our use of these mediums. It’s a look into what our blogs and posts are (“teaching”) and what the Bible says about those of us who strive to be “teachers”.

The Next Story by Tim Challies
Lastly, I have to give a shout out to Tim Challies and his new book, The Next Story. Challies is a prolific blogger, web designer, and elder extraordinaire who has guided me to many resources and solid resources. He’s written his second book about technology and faith and it’s sure to be a good one, so check it out.

A weird, but funny video. Admittedly, I sometimes feel like this…

bc

Leave a Reply

Worship Matters

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Desiring God

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Justin Taylor

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Pyromaniacs

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Russell Moore

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

AlbertMohler.com

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

The Cripplegate

for a new generation of non-conformists

Pure Church by Thabiti Anyabwile

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

Kevin DeYoung

"28. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same." - Jonathan Edwards

